<< Back to Injury and Illness Prevention Programs

Slides 1-10
Slide 11
Slide 12
Slide 13
Slide 14
Slide 15
Slide 16
Slide 17
Slide 18
Slide 19

« Previous  |  Next »
Slide 15


    Title: Industry Consensus Standards
    Type: Text Slide
    • American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
    • American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA)
    • Occupational Health and Safety Assessment Series (OHSAS) Project Group

    Speaker Notes:

    There are at least two industry consensus standards available to guide those who are implementing injury and illness prevention programs. The fact that the effort has been put forward to develop such standards demonstrates the interest level in these programs is high.

    The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) have published a voluntary consensus standard, ANSI/AIHA Z10 – 2005 Occupational Safety and Health Management Systems. This is a U.S. standard.

    Internationally, the Occupational Health and Safety Assessment Series (OHSAS) Project Group, which is a consortium of selected Registrars, national standards bodies, professional associations and research institutes, has produced a similar document, OHSAS 18001 – 2007 Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems.

    These consensus-based standards have been widely accepted in the world of commerce and adopted by many businesses on a voluntary basis.